Skip to content

Ahmed Faraz’s Khwab

September 23, 2008

It has been a while since I have copied Falstaff’s poetry posts:) Anyway, here’s another lovely one.

Khwab

Vo chaand mera ham safar thaa
doori ke ujaar jangalon mein
ab meri nazar se chhup chukaa hai

Ek umr se mai maloolo-tanha
zulmat ki rahguzaar mein hoon
mai aage badhoon ki laut jaoon

Kya soch ke intezaar mein hoon
koi bhi nahin jo ye bataye
main kaun hoon kis dayar mein hoon.

Ahmed Faraz

English Translation:

Dream

That moon traveled with me
in this barren forest of distances
now it’s hidden from my sight.

For ages now, I, sad and alone,
have walked in darkened ways.
Shall I go on, or return?

What thought makes me stay?
There is no one here to tell me
Who am I? What is this place?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

