Skip to content

Chennai Express via Vijayawada?

October 3, 2009

Traveled this week. To Chennai, then Vijayawada. Sleeper coach class on the train. I was trying to sleep that night on my grimy berth with the sharp, unmistakable stench of urine invading my air. I had a couple of snippy thoughts about my American friends and cousins who get nostalgic about traveling on a train in India. They know nothing. But then I remembered last month’s train ride to Nagpur where I sat on the train’s door way with them. Watching the perfect dark beauty of the night speeding by outside with a fat moon glowing proudly. Its wild mystery so close I could reach out and touch that vast landscape.  Hearing their stories all over again, laughing and crying. Life can make you bitter if you let it, and then there are moments whose beauty saves you in spite of yourself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

