Skip to content

Patience and Movies

March 11, 2010

I watched Aditithi, kab jaoge? yesterday. Comedy movie. Ajay Devgan is not a funny man. Paresh did everything he could — he farted, talked about pissing, sang and misbehaved; but there is only so much one man can do. I had to leave during intermission, I was bored to tears. I was also bored by "Teen Patti’, which I almost walked out on also. Plot that was so lazily put together, so poorly thought through… and not just plot, but editing. It was too much for me. I couldn’t even keep the critic part of my brain awake. It was too bored to even think of snarky things to say.

This is somewhat of a bad-news development. I like the distraction that movies achieve. But these days, I have no patience anymore for sitting through a feature-length movie — be it cinematic or tv. It better be short and sweet, or I wander off.

Which is why I was all the more impressed with Jab We Met. Great movie. I never expected this. I thought it was one of those cutesy, love movies filled with cheese and dancing. But no, yaars. It’s a nicely done, well-written and fun movie about love. And what I liked the most is that both the leads are in love with other people when they meet each other, and there is an actual process (that is painful) that they go through to excise their former lovers from their lives and start anew. Who knew Bollywood could tell that story with sincerity? It’s usually eyes-meet, you-are-the-only-one types.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 3:31 pm

    Jab We Met is indeed a movie worth watching… Will surely keep away from Teen Patti/.

Leave a Reply

