Skip to content

Long Time

November 25, 2010

It has been a long time since I have taken stock like this. It makes me anxious. And I don’t know where or what exactly the anxiety is all about. Actually, I panic about time. I worry and nag about time until it leaves me almost catatonic.

Listening to the radio as always. Is it just me or is 94.3 especially heavy on obnoxious advertisements today? And each of them is one inane, grating version of misogyny and class-blind idiocy after another with just a splash of Anglo-philia. I had a quick stab of concentrated, packaged rage at the following commercial. To paraphrase.

Woman #1: I am looking for a maid
Woman #2: Okay, what kind?
Woman #1: I need her to cook, clean. And she must be 7 ft tall (**cue jokey “comedy” music**).

Woman #1 needs a maid who can clean her ceiling fans easily.

It’s a commercial for a ladder. So you can go with an utilitarian object or a human worker — whichever, all the same.

Tomorrow morning, I am off to Chennai to observe and write up reports on the sessions from the field. It would be useful to finish up what I need to finish up, before I leave. Sigh. Possible, but not probable.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 2:38 pm

    Do cellars have windows?

Leave a Reply

