Skip to content

Identity Card by S.Joseph (Poem)

June 16, 2011

Original in Malayalam. Translated by K. Satchidanandan

Identity Card
By S. Joseph
Translated by K. Satchidanandan

In my student days
a girl came laughing

Our hands met mixing
her rice and fish curry

On a bench we became
a Hindu-Christian family

I whiled away my time
reading Neruda’s poetry;
and meanwhile I misplaced
my Identity Card.

She said,
returning my card:
‘the account of your stipend
is entered there in red’

These days I never look at
a boy and a girl lost in themselves.
They will part after a while.
I won’t be surprised even if they unite.
Their Identity Cards
won’t have markings in red.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

