Skip to content

Java-House Poetry – circa 1999

June 21, 2011

They teared down Java-house some years ago. This is not actually tragic, probably. But my heart still flinched. The removal of a place and a time that is now long gone. The Java-house invited you to enter, contemplate. I spend large chunks of my life there, studying, playing chess, writing and pretending to be a poet — all while drinking over-priced coffee in mug-bowls. I would carry this with me my whole life.

I fell in love in a coffee-shop at least once.  A dozen times.

Noise and Sound kissed off
with sexy, soft jazz
squeezing drops of romance
from the crystal air.
A beautiful woman
whose face curved into
the shape of her hair
Sighing softly
at the sound of her breath
that brushed by
rustling the edges
of the world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

