Skip to content

Bits and Pieces on Writing

March 14, 2012

[…] as for the future, I was once reading the first writings of a young girl, an apprentice author, who was quite impatient to get on with the business and find her way into print. There is very little one can say of use in such matters, but I advised her against haste — she could so easily regret it. “Give yourself time,” I said, “the future will take care of itself.” This opinionated young person looked down her little nose at me and said, “The future is now.” She may have heard the phrase somewhere and liked it, or she may just have naturally belonged to that school of metaphysics; I am sure she was too young to have investigated the thought deeply. But maybe she was right and the future does arrive every day and it is all we have, from one second to the next.  —- Katherine Anne Porter’s wonderful essay ‘The Future is Now’

Katherine Porter’s kind assessment soothes me. It relieves me of my own urgency, my own impatience with the English language. I am one of those who lets time spool out, and could never quite get along with the calender.

All day today, I have been pulled by the need to write. And yet, when I sit in front of my computer,nothing happens. I don’t know what I want to say, or even how to say it, or even if I should. I don’t know if it even matters. It certainly doesn’t matter to anyone, but me.

What I do know is that I need to sit still. It comes to me then. It is the quiet that carries me. And by ‘quiet’, I don’t mean the absence of sound or noise. But a silence inside me that builds space between my thoughts.

I know I need to turn off the internet. To stop posting snarky and too-clever comments on facebook’s fake walls. Tweet less, blog more. I need to finish what I started. To not get distracted by comfort or discomfort. I know I need to use my words to dig out my story. To document the reel playing in my mind while it’s still on.

Coherence, optional.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

