Skip to content

Hallmark Fears

August 20, 2012

The mediocrity in the turn of her words left a mark. Its ability to speak no truth, allay no fears, offer no comfort. My anxiety simmered. The lack of acknowledgement (meant to avoid awkward talks) of my pain, tears and fears touched a nerve.  As if these things were unknown, except as a form of particularly morbid dinner topic — to do only with understanding a movie or a bit of poetry or an exceptionally unstable television character. I was aware of my own sensitivity, like a sore patch of wound that I forgot to band aid properly. I left my thoughts unsaid and regretted the little I did share. Her insistence on the routine, the banal in the face of pain was mildly shocking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

