Skip to content

Close your eyes

October 9, 2007

My catty cousin might be a secret genius poet. Here’s my childhood.

I close my eyes and I am fourteen
skipping school
watching sally jessy rafael
playing basketball with you
and the bosnians

got my hat backwards
I am cool
I miss my kurla days
playing logori and langdi
I miss lucy and sunny

memories have gotten sweet
I have forgotten the monotony
of basketball games and high school
Wishing I was anywhere else but there
But now I wish I was there in the open field
being fourteen and playing basketball with you
with no school of course!

— Cats

The poem of course made us remember our crappy old olden days. Here’s a sampling of our moments.

  • nice….those were awesoem days…I was 18 and $1000/month was all we needed 🙂 gas was like 97 cents.
  • Yup jomy would drop me off at hyveé and go to dahls on SAT and sun lol i was 14 haha .. Remember donut and a Coke it was like a ritual
  • yeah good old time! we got to the end of Mario Bro III on da 16 bit Nintendo …also playing sega genesis! 🙂 Anyways I ran into one of the bosian kid at a party a few months ago! he is married and a very angry man now 🙂 Forgot his name…
  • And my own sprint through memory lane….Walking home, putting on my blue LJS uniform, tying up my hair inside my hat and make sure my glittery blue nail-polish hadn’t chipped. Coming home at night, trying to shake off the smell of greasy, fishy batter.
One Comment leave one →
  1. philosophyoflife permalink
    October 9, 2007 6:06 pm

    “A yearning – if only in our dreams” – a delightful poem – so beautifully written.

Leave a comment